Wellington Girls’ Win Premier Final in wild wet

Football – 2018 Girls Premier Final

Wellington Girls’ College have successfully defended their Premier 1 Girls’ football title with a tenacious 1-0 victory over St Mary’s College in grim conditions at Petone Memorial Park.

Played in horontoizal rain and often bitter winds, the spectacle wasn’t an all-time classic, but the endeavour of both teams was highly commendable.

The only goal of the match was scored midway through the first-half when Libby Browne eluded St Mary’s keeper Kearis Houlihan.

St Mary’s pressed hard for an equaliser, but Wellington Girls’ showed the defensive qualities which saw them only concede a solitary goal in their last six games.

George Lawry, Jemima Lewis-Gourdie and captain Lucy Jones were a tower of strength for Wellington Girls’ on defense.

St Mary’s Zoe Barrott (recently selected for the Capital Women’s football league squad) was largely contained. Captain Sydnie Williams led by example in pursuit of an elusive goal.

Both teams will head to Taupo to contest the Nationals next week. St Mary’s are in Pool A alongside reigning National champions, St Kentigern College, Whangarei Girls’ College and Sacred Heart Girls’ College, New Plymouth.

Wellington Girls’ feature in Pool G with Westlake Girls’ High School, Howick College and Otumoetai College from the Bay of Plenty.

Both sides will be looking to improve on their 16th and 17th placed finishes respectively at Nationals last year. If anything tonight is to go by – this is a highly likely prospect!

Meanwhile in the Premier 2 final, Onslow College won the aptly named Onslow Cup for the third time, overwhelming Tawa College 2-0.

Wellington Girls’ Winning Team

Emilie Beamsley-DickLucy Jones (C)
Libby BrowneGeorge Lawry
Jemma CatherwoodJemima Lewis-Gourdie
Sophie CoyleEliza O’Donnell
Nicole DalleyAmanda Parlane
Anushka DesaiZoe Tims
Jemma HallSamantha Whyte
Annalise HamesCharlotte Wilford-Carroll

Coaches & Management: Ben Frean, Sarah Alder.


Past Premier 1 Champions

2018: Wellington Girls’ College2008: Wellington Girls’ College
2017: Wellington Girls’ College2007: Wellington East Girls’ College
2016: Hutt Valley High School2006: Wellington East Girls’ College
2015: St Mary’s College2005: Wellington East Girls’ College
2014: Hutt Valley High School2004: Wellington East Girls’ College
2013: Wellington Girls’ College2003: Samuel Marsden College
2012: Samuel Marsden Collegiate2002: Hutt Valley High School
2011: Wellington East Girls’ College2001: Hutt Valley High School
2010: Wellington East Girls’ College2000: Hutt Valley High School
2009: Wellington East Girls’ College

Article courtesy of College Sport Media