Nine Wellington players named to attend NZ Schools rugby development camp

Congratulations to the following Wellington students who have been selected to attend the New Zealand Schools development camp in Palmerston North next weekend.

  • Iona Apineru (Silverstream)
  • Rocco Berry (Silverstream)
  • Caleb Cavubati (Scots College)
  • Sam Smith (Wairarapa College)
  • Roderick Solo (Scots College)
  • Ropati So’oalo (Aotea College)
  • Junior Uelese (Scots College)
  • Ethan Webster-Nonu (Scots College)
  • Keelan Whitman (St Pat’s Town)

The three-day camp in Palmerston North will culminate with the New Zealand Schools and New Zealand Barbarians Schools teams being named.

Of the 53 player selected, 26 schools are represented from 12 Provincial Unions.  Of the selected players, experience comes in the form of nine players who were involved in the 2017 schools programme, while Sam Smith represents Heartland Unions out of Wairarapa College. Saint Kentigern has the most players selected, with eight, followed by Christs College and Scots College with four players each.

The teams will be announced on 23 September.

The Full Squad is:

Match schedule

27 September
New Zealand Schools v Tonga Schools, Brisbane
New Zealand Barbarians Schools v New Zealand Maori Under 19, Wellington

1 October
New Zealand Schools v Australian schools Barbarians, Brisbane
New Zealand Barbarians Schools v Fiji Schools, Wellington

6 October
New Zealand Schools v Australian Schools, Brisbane