Ryan Jackson (Silverstream) named in NZ Māori Secondary Schoolboys cricket team

The inaugural New Zealand Māori Schools side to play a Governor General’s XI in Wellington next month will feature players from all six Major Associations.

The Māori team, selected by long-term Northern Districts’ administrator Pat Malcon and NZC Talent Identification Manager Paul Wiseman, includes five players from Central Districts; three from

Northern Districts, and one each from Auckland, Wellington, Canterbury and Otago.

It will be coached by Mark Borthwick, formerly of the Wellington Blaze.

NZC Network and Participation Advisor Andrew Tara said the introduction of the NZ Māori Schools side was part of his organisation’s push to better connect with Māori.

“NZC’s over-riding strategy is for cricket to be a game for all New Zealanders, irrespective of race, religion, gender or sexual orientation,” he said.

“This is one of the ways we hope to extend the game’s reach and make it more accessible to under-represented communities.”

NZC has already made advances in this area, having last year implemented a range of modified playing programmes designed to make the game more welcoming, relevant and dynamic for junior and youth cricketers.

Mr Tara said the Māori schoolboys team, supported by the New Zealand Cricket Players Association and School Sport NZ, attracted 46 nominations and a high calibre of potential candidates – three of those selected are members of the New Zealand Under 19 squad.

The team, which will play a Governor General’s XI including former international Hamish Marshall on March 7 at Karori, will stay at the Tapu Te Ranga Marae in Island Bay

NZ Māori Schools Team


Name Iwi School
Joel Clark Ngā Puhi me Ngāti Rāhiri Tumutumu Whanganui Collegiate
Tim Florence Ngāti Whātua Auckland Grammar School
Ryan Jackson Ngā Māhanga a Tairi St. Patrick’s College Silverstream
Joel Lavender Te Āti Awa me Ngā Puhi Marlborough Boys College
Ruben Love Te Āti Awa Palmerston North Boys High School
Rhys Mariu Ngāi Tahu me Ngāti Tūwharetoa St. Andrew’s College, Christchurch
Bailey McDonald Ngāi Tūhoe Lindisfarne College, Hastings
Kuwyn Price Ngāti Porou me Ngāti Hauā St. Paul’s Collegiate, Hamilton
Nathan Robinson Ngāti Hei Kings College, Auckland
Brayden Thomas Te Āti Awa Southland Boys High School
Ollie White Ngāti Apa Auckland Grammar School
Mitchell Williams-North Rongomaiwahine Napier Boys High School