HIBS on track to defend Trevor Rigby Cup

Reigning champions Hutt International Boys’ School returned to the top of the Trevor Rigby Cup standings with an entertaining and clinical 4-2 victory against St Patrick’s College, Silverstream on Saturday.

Played in misty drizzle at Silverstream, it was HIBS who attacked keenly from the outset with Campbell Webster forcing some acrobatics from the opposing keeper and Cole Kennedy scoring with a cracking free kick from about 30 yards.

Silverstream regrouped and Tyron Curtis replied when he latched onto a diagonal pass which stretched from one sideline to the other and left HIBS helplessly stranded at the back.

Curtis was a menace for HIBS, but collectively the visitors had more threats. Twice Webster would go close, including a shot that rebounded off the post.

HIBS took a 2-1 halftime lead when somewhat unfortunately Silverstream conceded an own goal. The ball was driven in low and hard from a corner and in the tangle of legs dribbled meekly into the Silverstream goal.

HIBS took control after the break and the lively Webster opened his account to make it 3-1.

Elijah Tyson was dangerous, but it would be Kennedy who scored the fourth goal, heading in a corner. Hilariously Kennedy was heckled by a spectator prior to nodding the ball into the net, “five bucks kid if your score.”

Kennedy, sporting a huge grin, was shortly replaced. Silverstream fought gamely to the end and Seth Loughran converted a late penalty.

In other matches St Pat’s Town returned to the top four after a 2-0 victory over Wairarapa College. Town’s goals were scored by Liam Coleman and Xavier Collie.

Wellington College and Rongotai College shared honours at 1-1with Cooper Duggan netting for Wellington and Mohammad Dia responding for Rongotai.

Meanwhile the July 2 fixture between Rathkeale College and Scots College was the proverbial game of two halves and ended in a 3-3 draw. Rathkeale scored the first three goals to Jonty Roubos, Zander Edwards and Oskar James, only for Blake Driehuis, Wynn Skinner and Joe Lee to rally for Scots.

The top team teams advance to the final on August 21.


1: Hutt International Boys School – 15 Points

2: Scots College – 14 Points

3: Rathkeale College – 11 Points

4: St Pats Wellington – 9 Points

5: Wellington College – 8 Points

6: Rongotai College – 7 Points

7: Wairarapa College – 3 Points

8: St Pats Silverstream – 1 Point


– Article courtesy of College Sport Media