CSW Rewind – Premier Rugby

Over the next few weeks College Sport Wellington are going to be taking a visual look back at some of the last few years of our sports, highlighting special moments, teams, players and more. We begin by looking back on some of our Premier Grade rugby winners.

Girls Premiership 2016 – St Mary’s 

St Mary’s College won the 2016 midweek final at Porirua Park, beating Aotea College 27-10. St Mary’s went all the way to reach their first national final later in the season, missing out to Southland Girls’ High School 29-46 in their maiden Top 4 decider after beating girls rugby powerhouse Feilding High School 58-12 in the semi-finals.

Highlights of the final can be found HERE

Boys Premiership 2017 – St Pat’s Silverstream  

It was a memorable season for St Pat’s Silverstream who won the Premiership title for the first time since 2012, beating Wellington College 17-11 in a tight and tense final, after trailing 7-11 at halftime. Silverstream had scored 146 tries in winning 16 straight games in 2017. Silverstream were brought down to earth by a rampant Hastings Boys’ High School in the Hurricanes final, missing out 17-47.

Highlights of the final can be found HERE

Girls Premiership 2018 – St Mary’s

St Mary’s College won their third consecutive Wellington Schoolgirls title, beating Porirua College 44-15 in the final under lights at Jerry Collins Stadium. St Mary’s scored two runaway tries to open their scoring, on their way to a 22-5 halftime lead, and pulled clear from there to win. Defending National champions St Mary’s went on to lose to Palmerston North’s Manukura in in the Hurricanes final.

Highlights of the final can be found HERE

Boys Premiership 2019 – Scots College

Scots College won the Wellington First XV Premiership for the second time last year, pipping St Patrick’s College, Silverstream 20-15 in a hard-fought decider. Silverstream leapt to a 10-0 lead before conceding three tries in the last 15 minutes of the first-half, including two to centre Ethan Webster-Nonu to trail 17-10 at the interval.

Highlights of the final can be found HERE


-Story courtesy College Sport Media