Ultimate Frisbee – NZ Under 20 Training Squad Announced

Congratulations to the following Wellington secondary school students who were named in the New Zealand Under 20 National Training Squads.

Womens Under 20 Men Under 20
Eva Langridge (HVHS)
Gabrielle Claridge (HVHS)
Gemma Grant (HVHS)
Karin Nakazono (HVHS)
Stacey Mather (HVHS)
Zara Bowen (HVHS)
Emma Pegler (Tawa College)
Summer Thomason (Tawa College)
Becky Liddell (Wellington Girls’ College)
Aiden Brown (HVHS)
Matthew Wessels (HVHS)
Natan Karnasuta (HVHS)
Steven Leishman (HVHS)
Elliot Mance (Rongotai College)
Ben Stiggers (Onslow College)
Henry Zaslow (Onslow College)
Sam Cooper (Onslow College)

These squads will train over four training camps between now and January, developing their physical, technical, tactical and mental skills.

With the opportunities for international competition currently impacted by the global pandemic, there is plenty of uncertainty around the events this squad may be involved in, however New Zealand Ultimate will continue to form plans around a possible trans-Tasman event in December 2021 and will continue to investigate the possibility of competing at the 2022 World Junior Ultimate Championships due to be held in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic in August next year.

The National Training Squad represents the best young players in New Zealand as seen at the NZ Secondary School Championships and NZ Youth Ultimate Championships held over the summer. We congratulate them on their recognition and wish them well in their development.

The full Squad can be found here: https://www.ultimate.org.nz/p/2021-nz-under-20-national-training-squads-announced?fbclid=IwAR3fXVekLeSWoysLi5y3BeUXTiTPjN8AQH4OMXmNAfj-Kg8ZozvwXUh9LT0