Results – 2022 CSW Waka Ama Sprint Champs

Congratulations to all the schools and paddlers that competed on Sunday.

It’s been a difficult year, with COVID forcing Hoe Tonga and CSW to postpone the event until 22 May.  While the number of schools and teams competing was down significantly on last year, Henley Lake in Masterton presented fantastic racing conditions.

Race results are available for download at

Event photos are available for free at our Flickr site at

A big thank you to all volunteers that helped out to make this event happen, to Paddy Rimene and Wairarapa Waka Ama Canoe Club for helping us host the event and preparing the race course, and Toa Waka Ama and Hawaikinui for providing canoes.  A big thank to Hoe Tonga for running a fantastic event.  And finally a big thank you to all the parents, school coaches, managers, drivers, that helped our rangatahi get out on the water.

Two school trophies were up for grabs:

The School Excellence Award recognises the school that accumulates the most points across all races, with 4 points for each first place in Championship Finals, 3 points for a second place, 2 points for a third place, and 1 point for a fourth place.  The winner this year was Manukura (from Palmerston North) with a record 40 points, followed by Te Kura Maori o Porirua with 30 points, and in third place was Mana College with 15 points.

The School Spirit Award is given to the school that contributes the most towards the atmosphere and event delivery, and for going the extra mile.  This year’s winner of this award was Te Kura o Kokohuia.

Finally, the steerer of Aotea College’s U16 “Aotea Pink” team was the lucky winner of a brand-new Tai Broadbill paddle.


Ngā mihi nui