HIBS Claim Premier Youth Football Title

Hutt International Boys’ School (HIBS) have reversed two previous defeats to St Patrick’s College, Silverstream to become Premier Youth First XI Football champions for the third time in four years.

HIBS won the decider 2-0 in front of a large and boisterous crowd at Petone Memorial Park on Wednesday night.  HIBS were thoroughly deserving victors scoring both goals in the first-half and creating several chances in the second.  By contrast Silverstream, who had beaten HIBS 2-0 and 3-1 in previous encounters this season, barely challenged HIBS keeper Connor Boyce who kept the first clean sheet in the final since HIBS beat Wellington College 1-0 in 2016.

The opening ten minutes were fairly even, but some lapsed marking on the right side by Silverstream allowed William Brownlie an unimpeded entry into the penalty box and a clinical finish put HIBS 1-0 ahead.  Two minutes later HIBS Nick McFadyen was brought down in the box and awarded a penalty. A hesitant shot, directed to the right of Silverstream keeper Connor Maxwell, was parried away and the score remained 1-0.  A deflected shot by Jack Antonopoulos earned Silverstream a corner, resulting in no profit as did a fierce blast from Ben Waine – saved by Maxwell.

HIBS second goal was scored by Cole Kennedy with a searing display of pace which left Maxwell isolated in a hopeless position. Kennedy could have run up the surrounding Wainuiomata hills such was the swiftness of his movement.  Tommy Joe-McIndoe, victim of a cruel bounce. almost surrendered an own goal and HIBS captain Jack Wylie headed narrowly wide of the target as HIBS went to the interval with all the momentum.

Silverstream defended doggedly in the second stanza, but was unable to mount serious attacking pressure as HIBS controlled proceedings. Ben Waine was arguably the man of the match with his constant bursts at goal forcing some exceptional keeping from Maxwell.

Wylie dedicated HIBS victory to Nathan Watt a Year 13 student and member of the First XI cricket and hockey teams who tragically passed in May.

In the Premier Reserve final, Onslow College beat Paraparaumu College 4-1. Onslow jumped out to a quick 3-0 lead and despite Paraparaumu scoring first in the second spell, Onslow never looked like being denied their second premier reserve title.

Previous Winners

2018: HIBS
2017: St Pats Town
2015-2016: HIBS
2014: Hutt Valley HS
2011-2013: Wellington College
2010: St. Pats Silverstream
2005-2009: Wellington College
2004: St. Pats Town
2002-2003: Tawa College
1999-2001: St. Pats Silverstream
1993-1998: Wellington College
1992: St. Pats Town
1990-1991: Wellington College
1988-1989: Rongotai College
1987: St. Pats Town
1986: Tawa College
1985: Rongotai College
1984: Wellington College
1983: Rongotai College