Wellington East and Sacred Heart to represent Wellington at Netball Nationals

Wellington East Girls’ College and Sacred Heart College, Lower Hutt, will represent Wellington at the New Zealand Secondary Schools netball national tournament in Timaru from 9-12 October.

Both schools qualified for the nationals after finishing inside the top five at the 32-team Lower North Island Secondary School (LNISS) A-grade tournament in Palmerston North all last week.  Palmerston North’s Manukura won the title for the third consecutive year. Manukura defeated New Plymouth Girls’ High School 22-20 in the final on Friday.  WEGC finished fourth and Sacred Heart fifth, behind the top two schools and third placed Napier Girls’ High School.

In the knockout matches on Thursday, WEGC beat Wellington Girls’ College 36-19 in their quarterfinal but lost to New Plymouth Girls’ High School 23-37 in their semi-final a few hours later.  The next day, WEGC lost to Napier Girls’ 37-40 in the playoff for third and fourth.

Sacred Heart  lost their quarterfinal to Napier Girls’ 33-30 and then beat St Mary’s College 47-23 to get to the all-important playoff for fifth and sixth on Friday, where they defeated Palmerston North Girls’ High School 36-11 in that important match which qualified them for the National tournament.

Just two of the five teams from last year will be at nationals from the Lower North Island tournament, these being Manukura and Sacred Heart who were there last year for the first time since 2012. Last year Manukura finished third and Sacred Heart 10th.  Recent Wellington regional champions St Mary’s College, who beat Sacred Heart in the Wellington final, could only finish seventh.  St Mary’s lost to Hastings Girls’ High School (13th overall) 39-42 on day one, lost to Sacred Heart 27-30 in a reversal of the Wellington final on day two, lost to last year’s national qualifiers Queen Margaret College (15th overall) 24-27.  This pitted St Mary’s in a quarterfinal against eventual champions Manukura, which they lost 28-34. They then lost to Sacred Heart again, 43-27.  They finished their tournament by beating near-neighbours Wellington Girls’ College 36-11 in the 7 v 8 match.

Samuel Marsden Collegiate finished 10th, while Hutt Valley High School were edged by a goal by Inglewood High School in the 11 v 12 match on the final morning.  Last year’s national tournament qualifiers Queen Margaret College beat Kapiti College 32-28 in the 15 v 16 encounter.  Newlands College beat Paraparaumu College 30-27 to finish 17th overall and win the Plate final.

Wairarapa College were 23rd, Heretaunga College 26th, Tawa College 28th and Aotea College 29th

In the B Grade, Onslow College were fourth, Bishop Viard finished eighth, St Matthew’s Collegiate 11th, Naenae College 13th and Mana College won the B grade Plate final therefore finishing 17th, Chilton St James 19th and Upper Hutt College 23rd.

The NZSS Netball tournament is one of the most competitive tournaments on the school sports calendar.

Just 16 teams qualify each year, with five teams from the South Island  (SISS) and six from the Upper North Island (UNISS) areas joining the five LNISS teams. Last year Howick College won their first title, breaking the stranglehold from recent seasons by their Auckland rivals Saint Kentigern College and Mount Albert Grammar School.

The NZSS tournament was first contested in 1993. Wellington Girls’ College in 1999 remain the only Wellington region national champions.

LNISS tournament WEGC and Sacred Heart College results


Beat Waitara High School 42-24

Beat Hutt Valley High School 47-20

Beat Newlands College 30-25

Beat Kapiti College 53-3

Beat Samuel Marsden 39-11

Beat Palmerston North Girls’ High School 30-28

Beat Wellington Girls’ College 36-19 (quarterfinal)

Lost to New Plymouth Girls’ High School 23-37 (semi-final)

Lost to Napier Girls’ High School 37-40


Sacred Heart:

Beat Aotea College 60-9

Beat Paraparaumu College 48-22

Beat Wellington Girls’ College 39-25

Beat St Mary’s College 30-27

Beat Whanganui High School 31-21

Beat Queen Margaret College 39-28

Lost to Napier Girls’ High School 30-33 (quarterfinal)

Beat St Mary’s College 47-23 (5 v 8 semi-final)

Beat Palmerston North Girls’ High School (5 v 6 match)


Wellington regional players in tournament teams

A Grade

Beyonce Rehutai (WEGC)

Saviour Tui (St Mary’s College)

Tiana Metuarau (WEGC)

Charity Polu (Sacred Heart, Lower Hutt)

Rachel Albiston (Samuel Marsden Collegiate)


B Grade

Louisa Wolfgramm (Bishop Viard College)

Emma Benefell (Onslow College)

Ocean Bartlett (St Matthew’s Collegiate)

Arnia Toheriri (Upper Hutt College)

Dallas-Marie Tone (Bishop Viard College)

Kate Sims (St Matthew’s Collegiate)


Article courtesy of College Sport Media

Photos courtesy of Masanori Udagawa