Can Town Stop Rampant Col in Premier Cricket Decider

Cricket’s Premier Youth Grade concludes this Saturday at Wellington College where the yet to be beaten hosts tussle with traditional rivals St Patrick’s College, Wellington (Town) in the Premier final.

The sides have met twice this year with Wellington College winning on both occasions. In the fifth round of the first term competition, Wellington recovered from being 3-2 to prevail by 35 runs. Openers Peter Bonar and Will Stevenson succumbed cheaply before the prolific Oscar Jackson struck 103 off 129 balls which helped Wellington College to 245 from 50 overs. Town fell for 210 in the 46th over.

The second meeting occurred last Saturday where again Oscar Jackson scored a century, belting ten fours and five sixes on his way to 121 not out off 95 balls. Will Stevenson contributed 99  as Wellington amassed a huge score of 375. Town was never in the fight and rolled for 75 in the 27th over. Ben Baker sneered three wickets.

Town hasn’t won at Wellington College since 2013 but finals have a funny way of not going according to plan. Town stunned Hutt International Boys’ School in the 2017 decider and are out to surprise again.

Jacob Madigan is a genuine strike weapon with over 20 wickets this summer and useful runs in the lower order, including an unbeaten 80 against Onslow College. Ethan Jefferson is a quality batsman who was the second highest run scorer in term one but has struggled to recapture that form recently. However if he can provide stability, Town’s more expressive players can attack more freely and construct meaningful partnerships.

Wellington will attend the Nationals in Christchurch and boast an impressive roster full of confidence. Jakob Vandenberg, better known for his bowling, was promoted to open the batting this term and hit six sixes against St Pat’s Silverstream. He also has seven wickets in four games.

Oscar Jackson is the key wicket for Town. He is a run machine with a best effort of  129 and an average of 106 in the first term.


-Story Courtesy of College Sport Media